Find out what happened in India on“15 May”


Maharshi Devendranath Tagore was born:

Debendranath Tagore (15 May 1817 – 19 January 1905) was a Bengali philosopher and religious savant,The original surname of the Tagores were Kushari. They were Rarhi Brahmins and originally belonged to a village named Kush in the district named Burdwan in West Bengal. Active in the Brahmo Samaj (“Society of Brahman”). He was the founder in 1848 of the Brahmo religion, which today is synonymous with Brahmoism. Born in Shilaidaha, his father was the industrialist Dwarkanath Tagore. 1843 by merging his Tattwabodhini Sabha with the Brahmo Sabha, ten years after the death of Raja Ram Mohan Roy, founder of the Brahmo Sabha. The Brahmo Sabha had fallen away from its original aims and practices.


Mahavirprasad Dvivedi was born:

Mahavir Prasad Dwivedi (15 May 1864 – 21 December 1938) was born in Kanyakubja Brahmin family on 5 May 1864 in Daulatpur village, now in Raebareli District of Uttar Pradesh. His father Ram Sahay Dwivedi was a soldier in East India Company’s army, later worked in Bombay as temple priest for the leaders of the Vallabha sampradaya. He was an Indian Hindi writer and editor. Adhunikkaal, or the Modern period of the Hindi literature, During his Indian Railways service in Jhansi in the 1880s, Dwivedi earned wide fame as a writer and litterateur. He published his translations and the critical works including Sahitya Sandarbh and Vichar Vimarsh.


Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was started:

The Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was formed in a public meeting of Brahmos held in the Town Hall of Calcutta on 15 May 1878 (2nd Jaishta 1284 of the Bengali calendar).At the time of its foundation the Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was headed by three men universally esteemed in Brahmo society for their high moral character. They were Ananda Mohan Bose, Sivnath Sastri and Umesh Chandra Dutta. Of those three Ananda Mohan Bose was the youngest, scarcely more than 31 years at the time, yet he was placed at the head of affairs.


Matsya Union formally merged with Greater Rajasthan:

Maharaja of Dholpur became its Rajpramukh. On 15 May 1949, the Matsya Union was merged with Greater Rajasthan, to form the United State of Rajasthan, which later became the state of Rajasthan on 26 January 1950.


Aruna Asaf Ali became the Mayor of Delhi:

Aruna Asaf Ali (16 July 1909 – 29 July 1996) was born (Aruna Ganguly) in Kalka, Punjab, British India (now in Haryana, India) into a Bengali Brahmo family. In 1958, she was elected the first Mayor of Delhi.


Gift Tax Act was introduced:

Gift Tax Act, 1958 was an Act of the Parliament of India which was enacted to impose tax on the act of giving or receiving gifts under certain circumstances as specified by the Act. As per the Gift Tax Act, the gifts that exchanged hands post 1 April 1958 were subject to taxes as mention in Schedule I.[1] Post 1 April 1987, this was amended to the rate of 30% (Thirty percent) and included gifts that were made in that particular Assessment Year. On 1 October 1998 however, the applicability of Gift Tax ceased to exist.


BSE closed :

BSE(Bombay Stock Exchange) Established in 1875, BSE (formerly known as Bombay Stock Exchange), is Asia’s first & the Fastest Stock Exchange in world with the speed of 6 micro seconds and one of India’s leading exchange groups. Over the past 143 years, BSE has facilitated the growth of the Indian corporate sector by providing it an efficient capital-raising platform. Popularly known as BSE, the bourse was established as ‘The Native Share & Stock Brokers’ Association’ in 1875. In 2017 BSE become the 1st listed stock exchange of India.


K.M. Cariappa passed away:

Kodandera “Kipper” Madappa Cariappa, OBE (28 January 1899 15 May 1993) was the first Indian Commander-in-Chief (C-in-C) of the Indian Army.Cariappa was born on 28 January 1899, in Shanivarsanthe, Kodagu (Coorg). He led Indian forces on the Western Front during the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947. He was appointed Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Army in 1949.


The 11th Lok Sabha constituted as Election Commission submits a list of 534 successful candidates to President: General elections were held in India in April–May 1996 to elect the members of the 11th Lok Sabha. The result of the election was a hung parliament, which would see three Prime Ministers in two years and force the country back to the polls in 1998. Atal Bihari Vajpayee of Bharatiya Janta Party, single largest party to win this election, winning 67 more seats than previous 10th Lok Sabha, formed the government which lasted for only 13 days.


Pandit Ravi Shankar, Sitar maestro, receives the 1998 Polar music award:

Shankar was born on 7 April 1920 in Benares, then the capital of the eponymous princely state, in a Bengali family, as the youngest of seven brothers.His father, Shyam Shankar Chowdhury, was a Middle Temple barrister and scholar from East Bengal (now Bangladesh).name is often preceded by the title Pandit (Master) and “Sitar maestro”, was an Indian musician and a composer of Hindustani classical music. He was the best-known proponent of the sitar in the second half of the 20th century and influenced many other musicians throughout the world. Shankar was awarded India’s highest civilian honour, the Bharat Ratna, in 1999.

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published.